Tysmenytsia

Name in English: 
Tysmenits
Name in Ukrainian: 
Tysmenytsia [Тисмениця]
Name in Polish: 
Tyśmienica
Name in Yiddish: 
Tismenits [טיסמעניץ]
Administrative History: 

 

Years State Province District
Till 1772 Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth: Kingdom of Poland Rus Voivodship (Województwo ruskie)  
1772-1914 "Hapsburg Empire", since 1804 - Austrian Empire, since 1867 - Austro-Hungarian Monarchy Kingdom of Galicia and Lodomeria (Königreich Galizien und Lodomerien) Tłumacz powiat
1914-1915 Under Russian occupation General-Government Galitsiia Tłumacz uezd
1915-1918 Austro-Hungarian Monarchy Kingdom of Galicia and Lodomeria (Königreich Galizien und Lodomerien) Tłumacz powiat
1918 - May 1919 West-Ukrainian People's Republic    
May 1919 - September 1939 Republic of Poland Stanislawów wojewódstwo Tłumacz powiat
September 1939 - June 1941 USSR: Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic Stanislav oblast' Tysmenytsia raion
June 1941 - July 1944 Under German occupation:  

General Government (Das Generalgouvernement für die besetzten polnischen Gebiete)

Distrikt Galizien Stanislau Kreishaupt-mannschaft
1944-91 USSR: Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic Stanislavov (Stanislaviv) oblast'; since 1962 renamed Ivano-Frankovsk (Ivano-Frankivs'k) oblast' Tysmenytsia raion
Since 1991 Republic of Ukraine Ivano-Frankivs'k oblast' Tysmenytsia raion

 

Population Data: 
Year Total Jews Percentage of Jews
1765 -  880 -
1880  6,953  2,529  36.3%
1890  7,654  2,492  32.5%
1900  7,918  2,049  25.8%
1910  9,929  2,305  23.2%
1921  7,027  1,090  15.5%
1931  7,527  1,185  15.7%
2005   9,600  0  

Tysmenits is a town on the Vorona river, 10 km from Ivano-Frankivsk. It was mentioned for the first time in 1143; in 1449 it was granted the Magdeburg Law. The medieval town of Tysmenits is now a vibrant community near Ivano-Frankivsk, where old buildings almost completely disappeared. Several old houses are preserved behind the central square.

A small memorial is recently erected on the place of the destroyed Jewish cemetery.

The photographs made by Dr. Vladimir Levin in Tysmenits  in August 2009 see at the Gallery section.